California CITDs Receive the President’s Award of Excellence

The California Centers for International Trade Development (CITDs) received the President’s prestigious “E” Award for excellence in export services recognized on May 20, 2013 in Washington, D.C. Pictured (L to R) above, Ken Hyatt, Deputy Under Secretary for International Trade (Acting), Dr. Deborah Malumed, California Community Colleges Board of Governors, Jeffrey Williamson, Statewide Director, Centers for International Trade Development, Dr. Rebecca Blank, Secretary of Commerce (Acting). This is the third “E” Award received by the California CITDs; State Center Community College received an “E” Award in 2001 and Los Rios Community College received an “E” Award in 2010.

The President’s “E” Award was created by Executive Order of the President to afford suitable recognition to persons, firms, or organizations which contribute significantly in the effort to increase United States exports.

History of the “E” Award

During World War II, more than 4,000”E” Pennants were presented to war plants in recognition of production excellence. The famous flag with the big “E” emblazoned on it became a badge of patriotism in action.

President Kennedy revived the World War II “E” symbol of excellence to honor and provide recognition to America’s exporters. Thus, the “E” Award Program was established by Executive Order 10978 on December 5, 1961. The “E Star” was authorized in l969 to recognize “E” Award winners for continued efforts in export expansion.